The Reading Rush TBR!

It’s that time of year again! Booktubeathon is back (now rebranded as The Reading Rush), this is a yearly readathon which lasts for one week where you aim to read as many books as you can! You can find out all the information about The Reading Rush here from the amazing creators Ariel and Raeleen (I love you guys for creating what may be my favourite readathon ever!).

There are 7 reading challenges, daily Instagram challenges (which I will be participating in, you can check out my Instagram here) and I think there are also daily video challenges (which sadly I won’t be participating in). The Instagram challenges get released on the day but the reading challenges are released in advance therefore let’s get onto my TBR!

1. Read A Book With Purple On The Cover

Cathy’s Key By Sean Stewart

Cathy's Key (Cathy Vickers Trilogy, #2)

This is a book which I have read previously and I remember not really enjoying it (probably because it is book two in a series). However I don’t want to read book one and I don’t want to get rid of this without reviewing it therefore sort of a catch 22 but I figured I might as well slot it into my TBR so that I can power through it quickly then get rid of it. It is only short so this shouldn’t pose too much of a problem

 

 

 

2. Read A Book In The Same Spot

The Borrower’s Afield By Mary Norton

The Borrowers Afield (The Borrowers #2)

Another book that I have had on my TBR for ages! This one is part of a bumper collection in one book so I’m trying get through the stories so that I can get rid of the giant book. This is only a children’s book and although the text is quite small it shouldn’t take me too long to read through this.

 

My ‘spot’ will be in my bed (surprise surprise) because that way I can read at any time of day and with the British weather I don’t want to be limited with my time if I choose a spot outside!

3. Read A Book That You Meant To Read Last Year

Turtles All The Way Down By John Green

Turtles All the Way Down

 

Probably the book I am most nervous to read this week. Other than The Fault In Our Stars I have absolutely hated all other John Green books (TFIOS is one of my favourite books of all time though). So I am hesitant going into this, I hope it’s going to be a 5* but it is more likely that it won’t be. It is also a little longer than I would have liked for the readathon but I do like a bit of a challenge!

 

 

4. Read An Author’s Debut Book

Legend By Marie Lu

Legend (Legend, #1)

So I struggled with this challenge. There were no books that I felt in the mood for that were a debut book (also how difficult is it to find an author’s debut novel?!). I eventually decided on this book, I will admit I did limited searching into whether or not this is Marie Lu’s debut novel but hey it’s my TBR, I can slightly bend the rules if I have to! However as far as my limited knowledge goes – this is her first novel.

 

 

 

5. Read A Book With A Non-Human Main Character

The Amazing Story Of Adolphus Tips

The Amazing Story of Adolphus Tips

 

Ok so once again I don’t actually know if this fully fits the challenge but hey it’ll do! I think this features a cat as one of the main characters that this story is about so I am assuming that the cat is a main character and therefore would work for this challenge!

 

 

 

 

6. Read A Book With 5 Or More Words In The Title

The Secret Diary Of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 3/4

The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 3/4  (Adrian Mole, #1)

I read this book years ago and remember it being really fast because I think it is told in a diary form (which would make sense considering the title). Just lately I am not as interested in reading this but I do own the physical book so if I don’t enjoy it I can just donate it after reading which would free up space on my shelf. Therefore a perfect choice for the readathon – short, quick to read and I can get rid of it after!

 

 

 

7. Read And Watch A Book To Movie Adaptation

The Witches By Roald Dahl

The Witches

This is a film I have seen hundreds of times however I can’t actually remember if I have read the book or not. I found that I really struggled with this challenge (like really struggled) so in the end I had to admit defeat and go with a children’s book that would be a quick and easy read (also I’m pretty sure the film is on Netflix so double bonus). I am excited about reading this one and I am so ready for the nostalgia I will get from watching the film AGAIN!

 

 

 

There we have it, my TBR for The Reading Rush! I am aiming for all 7 books although I’m not sure if I can actually achieve this! Some I am a lot more confident about than others but we will see how it goes.

Are you taking part in The Reading Rush? If so I would love to see your TBRs!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Reading Rush TBR!

Leave a comment