Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #2)

Genre: Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Image result for add to goodreads

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was the surprise best seller of 2011—an unprecedented mix of YA fantasy and vintage photography that enthralled readers and critics alike. Publishers Weekly called it “an enjoyable, eccentric read, distinguished by well-developed characters, a believable Welsh setting, and some very creepy monsters.”

This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Complete with dozens of newly discovered (and thoroughly mesmerizing) vintage photographs, this new adventure will delight readers of all ages.

 

This book is the second in the series therefore this review may contain spoilers from the first book.

I read the first book a few years ago and didn’t really love it, I decided to read it again last year and still found it meh. I don’t absolutely love it, it is just an ok book – read my full review here – so I wasn’t really pushed to read the rest of the series. However the film came out last year and it was actually pretty decent therefore I thought I would try and give this series another go, having made my mind up on the first book I thought I would carry on and see if it changed my mind.

I think this book was kind of on the same lines as the first to be honest, I felt like nothing really happened throughout the whole book and therefore this was just a ‘filler’ book where we learnt a bit more about the characters and it led to the build up for a big final battle but to me it just felt like nothing big and vital to the story actually happened and I think it could have probably been shortened to just one chapter in the final book to explain what happened.

In this book we follow the peculiar children exactly where we finish off in the first book, they are just about to cross the mainland for safety. From there they find new loops and make some new friends as they try and seek help and put a stop to this war.

I see why people like this series, it is fun to read about all the different gifts that the children have and how they can use them. However for me this one just seemed like I was always waiting for something to happen and at the end just felt meh. Although obviously things did happen in this book and yes there are some fights and some surprises it just felt to me like things were really drawn out for the purpose of another book.

I will be carrying on with this series because I am interested to find out what is going to happen and don’t get me wrong I do love the peculiar children however for me this book just didn’t hit the mark. I’m not going to rate it low because it was an ok book, obviously only so much can happen as the middle book in a trilogy but for me it just felt like it was a drawn out story at over 300 pages for something that could have easily been summed up and condensed to make the final book just like an extra 100 pages.

You do need to have read the first book to get what is going on in this book (I say this for those who haven’t read the first book and are wondering whether to pick it up now) and hopefully it will pick up in the final book for what I’m sure is going to lead to an epic battle. I’ll let you know once I’ve read it!

Rating: 3/5

Summing up: A filler book where not a lot happens

2 thoughts on “Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

Leave a Reply

