The Book Of Animal Ignorance By John Lloyd

The Book of Animal Ignorance. John Mitchinson, John Lloyd

Genre: Non-Fiction, Animals, Science

Image result for add to goodreads

Includes hundred of the interesting members of the animal kingdom. This title is armed with illustrations and diagrams. It contains information such as the water bears that can live in suspension for hundreds of years, the parasite carried by your cat that makes men grumpy and women promiscuous, and the woodlouse that drinks through its bottom.

I have had this book for so long, I used to really like animals and learning facts about animals. Then I got really busy and no longer had time for the animals and so this book ended up lost under the bed (don’t say you’ve never done it), however now I have finally gotten around to reading it!

In this book we have a double page spread on a particular animal which means this book covers about 200 animals! Not just normal animals like ants or bees (although they are covered aswell) but animals such as the binturong, capercaillie and the echidna!

There are some animals in this book I had never even heard of and actually had to google them (I would definitely recommend googling the echidna and then the baby echidna also called a puggle – they are so cute but at the same time really unattractive! I love them so much!). Each page had some really interesting facts and I even learnt some new things about animals that I thought I already knew such as female badgers can give birth to a multi-fathered litter (now that is a Jeremy Kyle episode I would love to see!).

Although I could only get through a few pages at a time before I got bored I did really enjoy what I read but I could only read it in small doses. So in terms of rating it’s really hard, it definitely isn’t a book that you can sit and read in one sitting, you can probably get through about 10 pages a day (20 at a push) so as a ‘book’ it’s 1/5 but it is interesting to dip into if a little pointless for some animals (some are just random information that I didn’t really find interesting but still) so for interestingness it’s 3/5 so overall it rates at 2. For me it was just really slow and took a lot to get through as there were some animals I just didn’t care about reading but I had to in order to finish the book, it became a chore to read in the end.

Rating: 2/5

Summing up: Really slow read that you have to dip into over time, not read in one sitting

Leave a Reply

