Paper Towns by John Green

Paper Towns

Genre: Fiction, YA, Contemporary

Image result for add to goodreads

Who is the real Margo?

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew…

 

 

Can we start this review by discussing how gorgeous this book cover is?! I absolutely love it! I’m not normally a book cover lover really, they’re usually just meh but I actually really love this one.

Anyway onto the actual review, I picked this up knowing absolutely nothing about it except that it is written by John Green aka the author of The Fault In Our Stars. Now I am a huge fan of TFIOS, when it first came out I remember sobbing for hours, up to a point my parents actually thought one of my friends had died and not a fictional character – yes it was that bad – so after the huge impact that book had on my life I felt like I then immediately needed to own pretty much every single John Green novel that he has ever written and not care what it was about.

Well…I feel like now that was a little bit of a mistake. I’d heard a lot of people say that the rest of his books weren’t as good as TFIOS however at the time I refused to listen to them, they were John Green haters and I would not hear a bad word said about the great author of this fabulous book. Well now I feel like I have to apologise…maybe I was a little hasty buying a load more of his books without actually reading anything about them.

In this book we follow Quentin (Q) as he follows clues to a girls disappearance, a girl who he has been in love with for years but never had the guts to say anything. Well now she wants him to find her and he is willing to do anything to make sure she comes home safe.

The premise of this book sounds amazing, although I’m not a fan of romancy love stories I thought it would be overshadowed by the mystery and that we could follow the clues together and try and guess where she is. It didn’t really go like that, throughout the story I was just thinking of how stupid Margo (the girl) was being, how much stress she put her parents through and didn’t really seem to care about anyone and was just acting really childish. That’s when it dawned on me that I was reading this book from an adult’s perspective and I am not comfortable with that at all! From then on I didn’t really find this book very enjoyable, everyone in it although at the age of 18 they all acted really childish and it just felt a little too far fetched.

The story sounds like there’s loads of clues to where she is…in fact there’s like two or three clues that don’t really mean anything so it becomes less of a mystery and just more of three 18 year old boys running around getting drunk. I felt like I didn’t really care where she was or what was going on, I just wanted the book to be over so I could be like “oh ok that’s paper towns done then”. I liked the idea of the paper town subject that the book is based on and it did genuinely interest me but I don’t really think that’s what John Green was going for, I think he was more interested in telling the reader that she was trying to say something about the towns, not just how interesting they are that they were just left.

The book did start to pick up towards the end of the book and it did become quite a fun race to see what would happen but the actual ending just seemed like a bit of a cop out so that the whole book felt like it wasn’t going anywhere. Again the characters seemed really childish and the ending wasn’t as realistic as it could have been, therefore I wasn’t the biggest fan.

Overall I think this book is just meh, the story wasn’t very riveting, the characters just seemed overly childish and the ending just seemed to fizzle out without anything particularly interesting happening. If you liked TFIOS and are considering picking this book up then please check out the other reviews before reading because it is absolutely nothing alike and you may find that you’re disappointed.

Rating: 2/5

Summing up: Childish characters with an unfulfilling ending

Leave a Reply

