Big Little Lies By Liane Moriarty

Big Little Lies

Genre: Fiction, Chick Lit, Mystery, Contemporary, Adult

Image result for add to goodreads

Big Little Lies follows three women, each at a crossroads:

Madeline is a force to be reckoned with. She’s funny and biting, passionate, she remembers everything and forgives no one. Her ex-husband and his yogi new wife have moved into her beloved beachside community, and their daughter is in the same kindergarten class as Madeline’s youngest (how is this possible?). And to top it all off, Madeline’s teenage daughter seems to be choosing Madeline’s ex-husband over her. (How. Is. This. Possible?).

Celeste is the kind of beautiful woman who makes the world stop and stare. While she may seem a bit flustered at times, who wouldn’t be, with those rambunctious twin boys? Now that the boys are starting school, Celeste and her husband look set to become the king and queen of the school parent body. But royalty often comes at a price, and Celeste is grappling with how much more she is willing to pay.

New to town, single mom Jane is so young that another mother mistakes her for the nanny. Jane is sad beyond her years and harbors secret doubts about her son. But why? While Madeline and Celeste soon take Jane under their wing, none of them realizes how the arrival of Jane and her inscrutable little boy will affect them all.

Big Little Lies is a brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, mothers and daughters, schoolyard scandal, and the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive.

I read The Husband’s Secret last year by Liane Moriarty and I didn’t really like it, I was expecting a lot more mystery regarding the letter so when it was opened like 3 pages into the book I felt a bit cheated – read my full review here – so going into this I felt a little dubious but I’d heard really good things about her books and I know people really love them so I thought I’d give her books another go. I was surprised by this book, I didn’t love it but I actually did enjoy the twists.

In this book we follow three women whose lives interconnect one morning while taking their children to school. Theres twists, scandals and ultimately murder…but who is dead and who did it?

The beginning of this book really dragged for me and so I seriously considered DNFing this at about 50 pages but I read reviews on Goodreads and they said it had a rough beginning so I stuck with it and to be honest it did pick up a little bit but just really slowly. The majority of the issues that the parents were facing were a little trivial and just seemed really insignificant but they were blown way out of proportion to the point where it got a little ridiculous (I mean seriously a petition to ban a 5 year old?!). However alongside these pointless problems there were also bigger issues going on. I think this book should definitely come with a trigger warning for rape and domestic abuse however I think it deals with these issues really well and they aren’t glamorized.

I liked how the character who was being abused didn’t immediately think to leave her husband, she stayed because she was thinking of her children and glossed over the fact that it was abuse because she thought it wasn’t technically an abusive relationship. Although this may seem a little silly to some I think it really portrayed the majority of domestic abuse relationships, sometimes the other person is too scared to leave or doesn’t fully count it as abuse because of reasons such as “they were asking for it” or “I hit them back so it doesn’t count”. I liked that the problem was dealt with like a real relationship and so that really pushed the rating up for me.

I don’t want to go into too much detail with the story as it is supposed to be a bit thriller/mystery but I will say there’s a few twists and turns in this book, the majority of which I did not see coming at all, some were a little cliché but some I was genuinely shocked and immediately had to tell those around me (who had absolutely no idea what was going on) but I was just so shocked!

Overall I did enjoy this book, it wasn’t perfect and it did take a while to get going but stick with it because the twists are really good and unexpected. This isn’t the best thriller/mystery/whatever book I’ve read and at times it did feel more like an adult book in the sense that I could picture a mum reading it and being all excited about the playground drama however I did still enjoy it so for that I’m giving it a really unexpected rating of 4*!

Rating: 4/5

Summing up: Slow to begin but some unexpected twists at the end

2 thoughts on “Big Little Lies By Liane Moriarty

Leave a Reply

