The Princess Diaries By Meg Cabot

The Princess Diaries (The Princess Diaries, #1)

Genre: Fiction, YA, Chick Lit, Contemporary, Romance

Image result for add to goodreads

She’s just a New York City girl living with her artist mom…

NEWS FLASH: Dad is prince of Genovia. (So that’s why a limo meets her at the airport!)

DOWNER: Dad can’t have any more kids. (So there’s no heir to the throne.)

SHOCK OF THE CENTURY: Like it or not, Mia Thermopolis is prime princess material.

THE WORST PART: Mia must take princess lessons from her dreaded grandmère, the dowager princess of Genovia, who thinks Mia has a thing or two to learn before she steps up to the throne.

Well, her father can lecture her until he’s royal–blue in the face about her princessly duty—no way is she moving to Genovia and leaving Manhattan behind.

But what’s a girl to do when her name is PRINCESS AMELIA MIGNONETTE GRIMALDI THERMOPOLIS RENALDO?

 

I loved this series when I was younger and the films are some of my all time favourites! That’s why when I recently saw that there was a new book in the series (not going to say what it’s called because it does spoil the series a bit) I figured I had to relive my childhood and start rereading the series again.

In this book we follow Mia, just a normal teenager trying her best to be normal. One day her dad drops by and just casually announces that she is a princess (as you do), from then Mia’s life is turned upside down as she tries to accept that she has to run a country even though she is as far from a princess as you can get.

I loved this book! It is such a fun and fast paced read. The story is told through Mia’s journal entries and it is just so funny to read from her point of view and see how she is coping with everything. Instead of most novels where the character is popular and instantly accepts they are a princess and do everything right, here we see Mia who has no intention of wanting to be a princess and she tries to come to terms with dealing with the press or learning how to act.

I flew through this book as like I said before it is a really fun read, it is definitely for teenagers however I’m sure young adults would enjoy this as well (I know I did!). The only downside for me which I don’t really know if it is a downside is that her grandmother in the film (Julie Andrews) is amazing and really funny. However in the book she just seemed a bit stuck up and I really didn’t like her, she didn’t act at all like a grandmother and I know she is a queen but at the same time she is still a grandmother and it seemed like that aspect didn’t come across. Therefore this did kind of ruin this book for me because I expected her to change into the loving and cool grandmother in the films but it just didn’t happen. I am hoping that she does change in the later books.

Overall I did really enjoy this book, it is a quick and fun read that is perfect for teenagers! I would definitely recommend this.

Rating: 4/5

Summing up: Perfect for teenagers!

Leave a Reply

