The Missing Hours by Emma Kavanagh

The Missing Hours

Genre: Fiction, Thriller, Mystery, Psychological Thriller

Image result for add to goodreads

‘Prepare to have your mind well and truly twisted’ – Heat

A woman disappears

One moment, Selena Cole is in the playground with her children and the next, she has vanished without a trace.

A woman returns

Twenty hours later, Selena is found safe and well, but with no memory of where she has been.
What took place in those missing hours, and are they linked to the discovery of a nearby murder?
‘Is it a forgetting or a deception?’

 

So I read about this book this time last year, I requested it on Netgalley…then life got in the way and I never actually read it. Well one year on and I’m finally getting to it! So although initially I did get this book for free from Netgalley I did go out and buy my own copy. Just a completely irrelevant disclaimer for you there.

Anyway onto the book! Here we follow a brother and sister, both are police officers and have two separate cases. One is investigating a missing woman, the other investigating a murder. After twenty hours the missing woman returns claiming she has no memory of what happened. As the evidence builds it is vital to understand what actually happened during those twenty hours.

The plot of this book sounded so interesting! I thought it would be really fun to try and piece together someones whereabouts when they have absolutely no memory of what happened. However the story for me was just not gripping enough.

At about 100 pages into the book the missing woman returns, during those first 100 pages though absolutely nothing has happened, we just know she went missing and a guy is dead. These two completely separate cases are obviously going to be linked somehow so there was no surprise there when it became apparent that they were.

The twists in this book were pretty easy to guess, there were some parts where I was mildly surprised but the majority of the major twists were pretty easy to guess. Everything just seemed really obvious and that is not what you want during a crime thriller. I wanted action packed thriller where we know who did it but we want to find out why and how. Instead we get a slow build up that by the time you get there you’ve already figured it out and you no longer really care.

The murdered guy wasn’t that interesting so finding his killer wasn’t all that interesting. All the little red herrings that are supposed to throw you off can easily be seen through and so that ruined the story for me a bit.

However one of the main parts of this story is that there is a large emphasis in the kidnap and ransom business. Admittedly I was not aware that there were people who risk their lives to go out and rescue people, I just thought it was a professional negotiator with the police who handled all that. So that was really interesting to read about and was probably the most interesting aspect of the whole book.

All in all I felt as though the book could have been a lot shorter, I felt as though the ending could have been easily guessed and I just didn’t really care for any of the characters. I think there are a lot more crime thrillers out there which are better than this.

Rating: 2/5

Summing up: Predictable

2 thoughts on “The Missing Hours by Emma Kavanagh

  1. delphinethebabbler says:

    Haha – the same thing happened to me with When Dimple Met Rishi, I got a free ARC copy but university became a sizzling mess and I didn’t return to it until after it’s publication and barely just posted my review.
    Great, brutally honest review of The Cosy Nook! I’ve been hoping to find a mystery/suspense to add to my TBR as most seem to be YA and Fantasy. The Cosy Nook has been under my radar for quite some time and now I’m not so sure I want to start it anymore…
    The premise sounds really cool, but now that I know its predictable, may not be so much fun to read.
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future… Happy Reading 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

