Wonder by R.J. Palacio

Wonder

Genre: Fiction, Young Adult, Realistic Fiction, Contemporary

Image result for add to goodreads

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

R. J. Palacio has written a spare, warm, uplifting story that will have readers laughing one minute and wiping away tears the next. With wonderfully realistic family interactions (flawed, but loving), lively school scenes, and short chapters, Wonder is accessible to readers of all levels.

 

This book has so many brilliant reviews, everyone I know who’s read this book absolutely loves it. Therefore I had to pick up this book…and I didn’t absolutely love it like everyone said I would #unpopularOpinion.

I liked this book, don’t get me wrong I didn’t hate it. However for me a 5 star book is an absolute favourite 10/10 would read again…which I just didn’t get with this book.

So let’s start from the beginning…in this book we follow a young boy called August (Auggie), he has some sort of congenital face deformity and for his entire life has been home schooled, until now. Now he is starting middle school along with every other child has age, however as we all know kids can be pretty cruel. We follow the story through his first year at public school and as well as seeing it from his point of view we also see it from the views of others around him and what they think about him.

This was a really emotional book, I’m sure at some point we’ve seen someone with some form of disfigurement and we have done exactly what is described in this book – looked out the corner of our eye then quickly looked away hoping they haven’t seen us staring. I’ve never actually thought about how it must feel for the other person, to know that they are different and everywhere they go people are going to stare, point and even scream. So this book really made me open my eyes and see the issues that people with deformities face every single day.

This book does focus on a very difficult topic however I think it was handled brilliantly. The bullying wasn’t covered up or made less obvious, it was shown exactly as it would be in real life. People are mean and this book shows us exactly how mean people can be and how difficult life is.

Although I didn’t love this book I think it is definitely a book that everyone needs to read. If every single person in the world read this book think of how much better people with disfigurements would be treated. They would no longer be treated as freaks or outcasts, people would understand that it is ok to ask what happened to them as long as they do so in a kind way and not just scream out “what the hell is wrong with your face!”

I would definitely recommend this book to absolutely everyone, everyone needs to read it and understand the message that is being portrayed in this book. It is a fast read and is such an eye-opener. Go read it right now!

I would give this 5 stars but as I said it was just missing something for me, I don’t exactly know what as it was fast and kept me gripped however I just don’t think I would pick it up again and so for that reason I’m only giving it a 4 (sorry).

Rating: 4/5

Summing up: An eye opening book that everyone needs to read

Leave a Reply

