Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)

Genre: Fiction, YA, Dystopia, Fantasy, Science Fiction

Image result for add to goodreads

My name is Katniss Everdeen.
Why am I not dead?
I should be dead.

Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss’s family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.

It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans–except Katniss.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’s willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels’ Mockingjay–no matter what the personal cost.

 

The final installment of the Hunger Games trilogy! Although all three books are amazing this one is probably my least favourite of the lot.

In this book we again immediately follow on from the second book, we see the destruction the Capitol has caused and how difficult life will now be for Katniss and her family. Peeta has been taken by the Capitol and they are obviously torturing him to find out what he knows about the rebel plans, however whose side is he actually on?

This is another reread for me, the first time I cried pretty much throughout the final 100 or so pages, however this time I just didn’t feel it. Normally I can reread books that have made me cry and still get the same feelings and they do still make me cry. Therefore I don’t really know what happened with this book, maybe because I knew what was coming so I was slightly more prepared for the ending? Either way without these shocks this book kind of let me down a bit.

The writing is still as brilliant as the other two books, this time with Katniss adjusting to life without Peeta then going into combat on a rogue mission. However for me this one just seemed to fall a little flat compared to the other two in the series. For whatever reason the tension wasn’t up to the same level and I did find myself wanting to put it down to go and do other things (something that never happened in the other two books). Although it is still a brilliant book with an unsuspected turn of events at the end it didn’t match up to the previous two.

However in terms of the actual plot I liked the direction it took, I liked the ending and the way we got an insight into the future and what life is like. The other books have been 5 star no doubts however I can’t say what it is but I think this book is definitely lacking something (maybe the tension that comes with an actual Hunger Games rather than the rebellion).

I would still recommend this series though as it is a really fast paced and tense story with a brilliant ending. Definitely a must read for people who like dystopian thrillers!

Rating: 4/5

Summing up: A great ending to a fabulous series

One thought on “Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Leave a Reply

