The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

The Secret Life of Bees

Genre: Fiction, Historical Fiction, YA, Chick lit, classic

Check It out on Goodreads

Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily’s fierce-hearted black “stand-in mother,” Rosaleen, insults three of the deepest racists in town, Lily decides to spring them both free. They escape to Tiburon, South Carolina–a town that holds the secret to her mother’s past. Taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters, Lily is introduced to their mesmerizing world of bees and honey, and the Black Madonna. This is a remarkable novel about divine female power, a story women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

 

I have been hearing about this book for so long yet have never actually gotten around to reading it until now! This month seems to be the month for books that have a lot of hype around them that I refused to read, first Illuminae now this!

Reading this book reminded me of The Help but just not quite good enough. I liked it don’t get me wrong however it just didn’t have that extra push to make me love it. Admittedly I don’t really like these stories/genre so I shouldn’t have been expecting much going into it but I figured with so much hype it had to be brilliant. Instead it was just good, now don’t get me wrong it’s not BAD, I need to stress this, there is nothing wrong with the book, it is a perfectly acceptable nice story. However for me it was just lacking something that didn’t make it brilliant. So although I didn’t give it the highest rating I feel like you should still give it a read if you enjoyed The Help.

In this story we follow a young girl called Lily, she is treated terribly by her father and accused of her mother’s murder. Therefore after a particularly nasty incident she runs away from home with her housekeeper to learn more about her mother and what really happened.

Although this book wasn’t classed as a mystery, I really enjoyed trying to figure out what actually happened and when the truth would be revealed. It added a nice level of tension to the story and just enough to keep you interested the whole way through.

It is a happy story with everything going to plan and even with some sad parts the book overall is a happy story. However there did seem to be just a few too many coincidences that made the story seem a little bit too convenient and that did kind of ruin the book for me though. Saying that I absolutely flew through the book and it was a fun little cute read about a girl finding out the true measure of family.

I would recommend this book even though I did give it a low rating. I do think it is a fun quick read, definitely one that everyone should read at least once. If you like the color purple or the help you will definitely love this book!

Rating: 3/5

Summing up: Cute read about finding the true meaning of family

Leave a Reply

