Book Scavenger Hunt!

Instead of revising I have found new ways of procrastinating! I was watching Lala’s new video (which you can find here) about a book scavenger hunt and I thought why not try it! However just as an added challenge I had to do it with the limited books that I either have with me at uni or are on my Ipad (just to add unnecessary difficulty!). So here is my scavenger hunt to find the next book I should read!

If you’re planning on doing it then it probably is a lot easier in a library which is how it is suggested that you play it but if you have a lot of books or just want a really difficult challenge then there’s nothing stopping you from doing it at home

Step 1 – Find Your Favourite Book

A Monster Calls

Mine is A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Step 2 – Find a book by an author who has the same first or last name

The Rest of Us Just Live Here

Kind of cheating but my other option (Name of the wind by Patrick Rothfuss) I don’t have with me and I needed access to it for the next step

Step 3 – Go to page 74, on the third line down pick two words from that line and find another book with those words in the title

So my line was:

Being me. I splash water on myself from the sink and rub some of Jared’s

And from that I chose:

Me Being Me Is Exactly as Insane as You Being You

There are probably loads of better options than this but this was all I had to work with!

Step 4 – Find a book with a similar context

Ok so this could be easier I suppose. For those of you who haven’t read this, it is about a young boy who finds out his father is gay and the book is about him coming to terms with that. So sticking with the LGBTQ+ theme I went with:

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Although I haven’t read this I am aware that it has LGBTQ themes therefore it’ll do for this step

Step 5 – Find a diverse book with a similar title

So I accept I probably couldn’t have picked a harder title to find. However I stuck with the idea of _____ vs. _____ and came up with:

The Wangs vs. the World

Although I have heard of the title I have absolutely no idea what this book is actually about which should be fun

Step 6 – Pick one of the main characters in the book, then find another book with the name of the character in the title

So according to Goodreads the main characters names in this are Charles, Andrew and Grace. While I have no books with Charles or Andrew in the title I do have one with the name Grace!

Broken Grace

This book has been on my TBR forever and I still have no idea what it’s about (oops)

Step 7 – Open that book to a random page and pick a word without looking

Ok I will admit…I did cheat a little during this section. I still picked the word at random however I did have a couple of goes (sorry!). It was just that the words I chose I didn’t have any books for! However after a few goes I did finally get a word that related to a book I had! The word I finally got was…. GIVE!

Step 8 – Find a book with that word in the title

 So when I actually found a word that related to a book on my TBR I got…

The Hate U Give

I have wanted to read this book since it came out! After a lot of trial and error I finally got a book on my TBR!

So there you have it, this was so much fun! Please feel free to take part if you want (I imagine it would be a lot easier to do this in a library). Let me know what book you get if you do take part!

Leave a Reply

