You by Caroline Kepnes

You (You, #1)

Genre: Thriller, Fiction, Contemporary, Mystery, Adult, Suspense

Check It out on Goodreads

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

 

While writing my reviews I put the genre/topics of the book above and although it isn’t listed on Goodreads I was debating whether or not to class this as a romance (you’ll soon see why).

In this book we meet Joe, a simple guy with a simple life of working in a bookshop (any readers dream job), one day Beck comes in and chats to Joe, he then finds out her name from her credit card and the stalking begins.

Joe googles her name and of course she is on every social media (who isn’t nowadays?), all it takes is a bit of digging and he finds out everything he needs to know about this girl. Naturally from there he stalks her and sits outside her house watching her have sex.

Although this isn’t a normal romance book at all I do believe that Joe really loves Beck and would do anything for her (as he shows throughout the book). Therefore I am torn about putting it under the romance category, this is clearly not a normal romance. Stalking is definitely not the way to a womans heart and there definitely isn’t a lot of hearts and flowers in this book, however there is still the protective bond between the two characters which could be classed as love?

Anyway from there Joe’s stalking gets increasingly worse and he starts doing more sinister things to ensure that he and Beck end up together and that she is safe. This book is strange, definitely strange. I haven’t really read many (if any) books about stalkers and it was interesting to read from that POV. I liked seeing how Joe thought he was protecting Beck when he did the things he did and of course you can see from the other point of view why it is creepy. It was a very interesting read and very intense.

This book is definitely for mature audiences, there’s swearing, sex scenes and definitely some crude comments. Therefore only read if you are ok with reading these things (by swearing I don’t just mean the common ones, I mean the vulgar terms).

Overall I think this book was ok, at times it was interesting and exciting however for the majority of the book it was just Joe trying to please Beck but doing it in the creepiest way possible. From a stalker/thriller novel I expected tension and anticipation however there was never any, it always felt like something bigger could have happened, something to add tension to the plot however in the end I was just left with a feeling of disappointment. Therefore I’m not saying this book is bad because it really is interesting to read from the POV of a stalker however at the same time there is none of the thrill/tension you think you would get from reading about a very intense stalker.

I have mixed feelings about this book but overall I don’t think it was great, definitely not pushing me to read the next book in the series.

Rating: 2/5

Summing up: Interesting POV but lacks tension

2 thoughts on “You by Caroline Kepnes

  1. msnoseinabook says:

    I have been going back and forth with myself on whether to read this or not. I pretty much hear the same things about it so I’m still debating. I’m thinking maybe I’ll check it out at the library and give it a try. I’m interested to see what I think of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

