(Delayed) Top 5 Wednesday – Books You Felt Betrayed By

A Top 5 Wednesday…not on a Wednesday?! Are you insane Kim?! If you read my previous post here about where I’ve been you’ll see that I have been really busy and didn’t have time to do any Top 5 Wednesdays! So instead I’m doing a catch up which means you may see a few T5Ws not on a Wednesday! Sorry! So here we will go through the topic for March 15th – Books You Felt Betrayed By.

5. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars

 

This book! Everything was supposed to end cute and happy but NOPE! Instead I got my heart ripped out and ended up sitting crying for like 20 minutes. I was pulled into the happy, lovely, cute little teen romance and they connected with each other and they were going to live happily ever after then BAM nothing! How dare you do this to me John Green! You hurt me! All of me! That was pure betrayal there, I thought it would be a happy romance that would make me feel all fuzzy, in the end I feel empty and it’s all your fault!

 

 

 

4. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief

 

Similar to the previous book we have like 400 pages of a cute little story of a girl surviving the difficult times during the war. Just when you think everything is going well for her and her life is going to be ok death decides to step in and ruin everything. Just like the fault in our stars I just sat looking at the book and crying thinking how could this happen?! They were so happy! Why do authors have to be so cruel?! I feel more hurt than I ever have before and am done with these happy stories that get destroyed in the end. I shall never again fall for it!

 

 

3. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

A Monster Calls

So it happened again. I knew that this was a moving read and yet I still went in expecting a happy ending. What is wrong with me?! I should never have expected any different. Once again I was sat (this time on a train from London) crying at a bloody book which I thought would end differently! Once again I was betrayed by yet another bloody author! This really needs to stop! The writing is moving but still ridiculously sad and no matter how nice the writing I’m still upset and betrayed by what you did to me Partick!

2. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling and Jack Thorne

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two (Harry Potter, #8)

 

Ahh a new Harry Potter book! All the nostalgia and love of returning to Hogwarts but with a new generation of kids…YAYYYY!!!!…wait, what is this?! NOPE! Take it back! I don’t want it!

I was so excited about this book, it has been years since I actually went out an brought a book on the day of it’s release, I was so excited! I had to read it that day! Then I read it in one whole sitting and was just like…what? This is not Harry Potter. This is lies and slanderous deceit.

It read like a fanfiction…a very strange and wrong fanfiction. I wanted a great new Harry Potter book and instead got this.

1. Paper Princess by Erin Watt

Paper Princess (The Royals, #1)

 

This is a new kind of betrayal. At the end of this book something happens (I won’t say what because of spoilers) that really hurts the main character. I felt that hurt! I felt like I had personally been betrayed by the character in this book, I hated them like it was me. I was completely and utterly speechless I was just so hurt by what had happened. A brilliant plot twist yet at the same time because I wasn’t expecting it I was the one who felt hurt. I was like HOW COULD YOU DO THAT?!

If you like getting betrayed by characters in books then this is definitely the perfect book for you!

 

So there we have it, the top 5 books that I felt betrayed by. The majority is me being a sucker and being pulled into the story too much so that I personally feel hurt for what happened to the characters!

What do you think? Have you read any of these? If so did you feel betrayed from these? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

