Flying Lessons and Other Stories by Ellen Oh

Flying Lessons and Other Stories

Genre:Short Stories, Middle Grade, Anthology

Check It out on Goodreads

Whether it is basketball dreams, family fiascos, first crushes, or new neighborhoods, this bold anthology—written by the best children’s authors—celebrates the uniqueness and universality in all of us.

In a partnership with We Need Diverse Books, industry giants Kwame Alexander, Soman Chainani, Matt de la Peña, Tim Federle, Grace Lin, Meg Medina, Walter Dean Myers, Tim Tingle, and Jacqueline Woodson join newcomer Kelly J. Baptist in a story collection that is as humorous as it is heartfelt. This impressive group of authors has earned among them every major award in children’s publishing and popularity as New York Times bestsellers.

From these distinguished authors come ten distinct and vibrant stories.

 

For this read I combined two things which I never do – read short and diverse stories. I am not a fan of short stories, I feel like if I’m investing time into a book I want a good amount of detail out of it. In terms of diverse stories for whatever reason I just don’t read them, I always end up picking the same stories about the same people and a variation of them. Therefore this was a new and refreshing read for me.

After reading the book I’m still not convinced that short stories are for me (sorry) however I definitely feel like I learnt something from this book. I got to read from characters that I normally wouldn’t, I got to see things from a different perspective in a way that I never would have thought possible. Each of the stories had their own unique voice that really made the stories come alive which really made me enjoy the book.

Each story (if you hadn’t already guessed), is about characters or authors who are diverse, they may be from a different culture or have a disability. Either way they are different from the characters exhibited in the majority of works nowadays.

I’m not going to go through each story as I think that the reader should go into them knowing nothing so that you can experience the story the way the authors wanted you to. Some of the authors have such distinctive and beautiful voices that really do make the stories come alive.

Although I’m not a fan of short stories I did like this book. I didn’t think it was brilliant however I would recommend this book. It was interesting to read different stories from different perspectives and I feel that more should be written from these perspectives.

 

Rating: 3/5

Summing up: Interesting perspectives

Leave a Reply

