Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite Underrated Books

Welcome back to another top 5 Wednesday! This weeks topic is your top 5 favourite underrated books. This is a difficult topic, normally it is difficult because I don’t have enough books for the topic however this week I have far too many! There are so many good books that I feel are underrated and that more people need to read! Although these books may not be to everyone’s taste I have tried to include a wide variety of genres so hopefully there is something for everyone here. If you want to know more about the books mentioned you can click the pictures to link you to Goodreads or ask me and I will tell you more about them!

5. The Valley Of Secrets by Charmian Hussey

The Valley of SecretsA unique and unforgettable tale, beautifully decorated with Christopher Crump’s highly detailed pen and ink drawings, sweeping from London to Cornwall to the Amazonian rainforest Abandoned as a baby, Stephen had nearly given up hope of ever finding his family. This epic adventure follows his change in fortunes as he receives an unexpected letter from a strange source and sets off on an unforgettable journey. From a drab room in London, where the rain confirms the greyness of his life, Stephen travels to a Cornish Valley; remote, exquisitely beautiful and heavy with secrets.

This is such a beautiful book, admittedly it is a little old now (2003) however I would still recommend this book. The illustrations in this book are beautiful and it captures the Cornish Valley brilliantly. I don’t want to spoil it for you however this is a tale of mystery and loss but there is hope, Stephen may once again be reunited with his family. This is definitely a read for those of you who like stories  about finding families, exploring countryside and living in a beautiful and peaceful world.

4. The Spook’s Apprentice by Joseph Delaney

The Spook's Apprentice (The Last Apprentice / Wardstone Chronicles #1)

A wonderful and terrifying series by a new writer about a young boy training to be an exorcist. Thomas Ward is the seventh son of a seventh son and has been apprenticed to the local Spook. The job is hard, the Spook is distant and many apprentices have failed before Thomas. Somehow Thomas must learn how to exorcise ghosts, contain witches and bind boggarts. But when he is tricked into freeing Mother Malkin, the most evil witch in the County, the horror begins..

I’m really surprised that more people don’t know about this series. The majority of the popular YA books are about supernatural beings/fantasy/adventure…this book has it all! From witches to ghosts and the devil what more could you want? I think many people would enjoy this book but it just needs more publicity! Come on guys! It is a great series that spans over 13 books. I know 13 is a lot but honestly I enjoyed each and every one of them. Normally I hate series however this is definitely my favourite regardless of how many books there are in the series. Just pick this one up and give it a shot, I guarantee you will not be disappointed!

3. Paper Princess by Erin Watt

Paper Princess (The Royals, #1)From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone.

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.

Admittedly this book did not appeal to me when I first heard about it, I thought it sounded too perfect and cliche however after reading it I absolutely loved it! If you are a fan of Gossip Girl then this is definitely a book for you! If you aren’t a fan of teen drama or sexual advances then this book probably isn’t for you. This book is definitely packed full of drama and I admittedly loved every second of it! Although I haven’t yet read the rest of the series I will definitely be getting round to it, hopefully by then more people will have picked up this book so we can discuss it!

2. The Master by Tara Sue Me

The Master (Submissive, #8)

Sasha Blake is scarred from a BDSM session gone wrong, but she can’t deny how drawn she is to a strong Master. Determined to rejoin the Partners in Play community, she asks Abby and Nathaniel West to set her up with a Dom who will make her feel safe again as a sub.

Cole Johnson knows how to push all of Sasha’s buttons, but he’s convinced she’s not the submissive he needs. Still, the further they go into their play, the more Cole begins to wish he could make Sasha his all the time…

When forbidden desires turn into scorching action, Sasha and Cole come face-to-face with their demons – and realize their deepening relationship might be too dangerous to last…

I need more people to read this book. Actually I need everyone who has read 50 Shades of Grey to also read this book. This is an erotica book, normally not my cup of tea however I got an ARC of it so thought what’s the worst that can happen? If you thought 50 Shades was good then you definitely need to read this, stop what you are doing right now and read this book. 50 Shades did not show a good BDSM Dom/sub relationship, this book shows you how to do it right. Gone are the controlling/abusive comments from the dom and gone are the moments where the sub not dare do anything wrong for the fear that the dom will hurt her. I really did not enjoy 50 shades (if you couldn’t tell) but this book was so much better and has salvaged my whole view of the erotica genre. I definitely think more people need to read this book/series. This is another series I hope to finish this year and I hope the other books are as good as this one! Please just go read it now!

1. Horrorstor by Grady Hendrix

Horrorstör

Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland, Ohio. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring bookshelves, shattered Glans water goblets, and smashed Liripip wardrobes. Sales are down, security cameras reveal nothing, and store managers are panicking.

To unravel the mystery, three employees volunteer to work a nine-hour dusk-till-dawn shift. In the dead of the night, they’ll patrol the empty showroom floor, investigate strange sights and sounds, and encounter horrors that defy the imagination.

A traditional haunted house story in a thoroughly contemporary setting, Horrorstör comes packaged in the form of a glossy mail order catalog, complete with product illustrations, a home delivery order form, and a map of Orsk’s labyrinthine showroom.

This was easily one of the best books I read last year. It has been a long while (I’m talking years) since a book has actually made me scared. This book absolutely terrified me, I was thinking about it for days after and it really played on my mind. Although many people haven’t heard of it or are put off by its unusual design (it is in the format of an IKEA catalogue) it is truly terrifying. Definitely one for fans of Stephen King, I truly think you will enjoy this if you like horror books. Normally I stay away from the horror genre as the stories just aren’t scary enough for me, I want a book that will keep me up at night…I certainly got my wish with this book! Absolutely without a doubt would recommend this to anyone who loves horror. It is fantastic, you need to go and pick this up NOW!

So there you have it, my top 5 favourite underrated books that I feel everyone should go read right now! Have you read any of these? If so what did you think? If you haven’t read them are you going to check them out now? Let me know what you think and what your favourite underrated books are!

Leave a Reply

