Paper Princess by Erin Watt

Paper Princess (The Royals, #1)

Genre: Fiction, Chick Lit, Romance, Contemporary, Young Adult

Check It out on Goodreads

From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone.

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.

 

Wow, this book! I had never heard of this book before, it just happened that a youtuber I watched had brought it in a book haul, I needed a book which had a pretty title so I thought perfect! It was only about 200 pages on my ipad so why not? I figured it would be a quick read as I was running out of time before the end of the year to finish my reading challenge. Instead..wow. It takes a lot to shock me, I don’t think I can remember the last time a book actually shocked me, like something that I didn’t see coming at all. Normally I have a mild inkling as to what is happening so it is less of a surprise. However I did not see this coming at all! It was a complete jaw dropper (literally) I was in complete shock and rapidly became one of the best books I read last year!

I didn’t really think I would enjoy this book, it sounded too good to be true, Ella’s parents die, she gets adopted by this guy who has loads of money. It has to be too good to be true, and yet I was so sucked in to this story! Her new brothers hate her, full on hate and will do anything to get rid of her. It became such an intense story that you have to force yourself to put it down! I became completely obsessed, I read it whenever I could find the time and read it in pretty much less than 24 hours, forget uni work I just had to finish this book!

I cannot recommend this book enough, it has a similar vibe to gossip girl but so much more addicting! I absolutely loved Ella’s character, she is tough and yet still has flaws, she does get upset over things but is tough enough to wait until she is alone to cry. I really liked this as most female characters in books are heroes, they never cry, never have any flaws, they fit in perfectly at school (or don’t but after a swift makeover everyone sees how lovely they are), Ella still remained hard working even though she got given all this money. She knew how to play the people around her and it made it a really entertaining story.

The ending though! I have no words, I read this book a few days ago and have still not recovered from that ending. I need to read the next book in the series but for now I just can’t get over the first one! Without giving away too much I’ll just say why?! I really didn’t see it coming, I don’t know who felt more hurt me or Ella! I definitely need a rest before I can pick up the next book!

This book is so full of drama but has such a dysfunctional family whom you can’t help but have a love/hate relationship with. I cannot remember when I last read a book which I was so addicted to! I will definitely be reading the rest of the series!

If you are intending to read this book (which I highly recommend) I would suggest that you have the second book in the series lined up. You will definitely want to read more at the end! You cannot just leave the story like that, it’s cruel!

Rating: 5/5

Summing up: An absolute jaw dropper!

Leave a Reply

