Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite Polarizing Books

Welcome to another top 5 Wednesday! This weeks topic is favourite polarizing books, basically books which people tend to love or hate. I think this is a really interesting topic and should show up some interesting books on people’s lists.

5. The Martian by Andy Weir

The Martian

 

 

This book had so much hype around it with everyone seeming to love it, after I read it I didn’t see what the big deal was, I found it so boring. It contains a lot of in detail maths equations, everything told so intricate you could follow it yourself. To some people this may be great, to others not so much. I think depending on your fondness of maths you will either love or hate this book. There doesn’t tend to be many people who are in the middle. I think if you don’t grasp the maths then you have no chance of enjoying the book. For me the equations were too much (maths was never my strongest subject!) and it kind of ruined the book for me.

 

4. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott. Fitzgerald

The Great Gatsby

This book is regarded as one of the best books ever written. If you get down to it the book is essentially about the American dream which everyone wants yet isnt obtainable. As above if you can understand this and get through it then you will love the book. However for me it just didn’t make a good book, I didn’t want to read a 200 page book about a metaphor of pretending to be the American Dream. However with this book most people (English Literature students) love it, there are others (me) who just don’t. I’m yet to come across someone who says “yeah it was ok, nothing great though”. Most people completely love it and think it is the worlds best book however for others it is just confusing and annoying because you start to pick up the catchphrase “old sport” from Gatsby. Thanks for that old sport

 

3. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars

 

 

This book is basically teenage/young girls vs the world. Some people love the relationship between Gus and Hazel, they love that he wants to do everything for her and look after her. Others hate the love story, they don’t care about the characters or the story, they see the book as an immense amount of time. When someone mentions the fault in our stars you have to try and gauge their reaction based on their face, they could hate you either way. I’m sure there has been one dad who has read the book to see what all the hype is about then ended up in a full blown argument over it. Personally I loved this book, I regard it as one of the best of all time however some people may have other views, that is perfectly acceptable as well.

2. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Twilight (Twilight, #1)

Carrying on with the hormonal teenagers books…here we have twilight. A book that not only split the nation into lovers and haters of the books but split everyone again into team Edward or Jacob?! Since when did a love triangle become just a big debate?! Again you have to be wary when talking about twilight, you don’t know which team the other person is on. And when you find out they love the book the tenseness isn’t over…are they team Edward or Jacob? I did like these books, I certainly don’t hate them (although I do think the 2nd one is pretty stupid) and if I had to pick a side I’d definitely be on the love side. I do like this series, I know it is stupid and Bella picked the wrong guy (TEAM JACOB!) but I still enjoy reading them

1. Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1)

Probably the number one on everyone’s list. This book is immensely popular with an extraordinary amount of people buying it and loving it. However there are also a vast amount of people who despise this book. They say it promotes abuse and idolizes controlling relationships. Therefore I think this book/series won’t come as a shock to any of you. I didn’t like these books, I agree that Christian was trying to control Ana(?) even down to what she should eat. I don’t like how people think this is the only erotic book out there or that this is how relationships should be. We shouldn’t be idolising this sort of abusive relationship! I get that you want to do kinky things in the bedroom which is fine but don’t make everything so controlling, if you tell a woman not to do something she’s 99% more likely to do it. Basically guys don’t be a controlling asshole, although you can teach your partners not to read this horrendous book.

 

So there we have it, my top 5 books that people either love or hate. I think I made my feelings clear on each one. However if you like the sound of a book you shoud go read it! Don’t get put off by my review or the fact that it’s on this list. You never know, you may end up loving it!

Leave a Reply

