The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

The Husband's Secret

Genre: Fiction, Chick Lit, Mystery, Contemporary

Check It out on Goodreads

At the heart of The Husband’s Secret is a letter that’s not meant to be read

My darling Cecilia, if you’re reading this, then I’ve died…

Imagine that your husband wrote you a letter, to be opened after his death. Imagine, too, that the letter contains his deepest, darkest secret—something with the potential to destroy not just the life you built together, but the lives of others as well. Imagine, then, that you stumble across that letter while your husband is still very much alive. . . .
Cecilia Fitzpatrick has achieved it all—she’s an incredibly successful businesswoman, a pillar of her small community, and a devoted wife and mother. Her life is as orderly and spotless as her home. But that letter is about to change everything, and not just for her: Rachel and Tess barely know Cecilia—or each other—but they too are about to feel the earth-shattering repercussions of her husband’s secret.

Possible spoilers ahead!

I don’t really know how I feel about this book to be honest. I liked it but at the same time wasn’t overwhelmed with it. I’d heard of Liane Moriarty and actually own a few books by her yet this is my first book that I’ve read!

The book takes place over a week and each chapter is about a different family/character who live in the same town and are linked. Cecelia (one of the characters) finds an envelope from her husband telling her only to read the letter in the event of his death. Well from that moment that is all she can think about, eventually opens it…and her life is changed forever. Without telling you what the letter said I can’t really go into much more detail about that.

It became obvious to me about a quarter of the way through the book what the letter said (before she opened it obviously) and so that tension and mystery was then ruined, it was quite obvious as to what it said so it didn’t really come as a shock that it turned out to be true. However half way through I found myself thinking about the different characters and their stories and I found myself wanting to continue reading to find out what happened (which meant some very late nights staying up reading).

The stories overall though were just too nice for me, it was like reading a book where all the characters have perfect lives, they all bake nice cakes, have perfect children who do exactly what they say etc. then these issues appear but they will all be righted at the end without too much harm to anyone.

The issues just seemed trivial, either do something about it or don’t. I hated the pages and pages of constantly flitting between this idea/person or that one (depending on the character/story). I think if the women in the book acted like adults for just 5 minutes the problems would be easier to solve. Instead 2 of them don’t do anything at all except have inner conflict and the third runs off to the other side the country and enrols her child at a new school like it is the most normal thing in the world.

However I still found myself coming back to this book engrossed in the stories of these women. Hence my inner turmoil writing this review, part of me loved it and part of me didn’t.

I loved it because there was gossip, bitchiness and mystery. I was desperate to find out what happened to the characters and how all this would be sorted out…what would happen to them? There’s no way this can end well right? So I loved the book for keeping me engaged and entertained throughout the entire book.

However at the same time I didn’t like it. Reflecting back after reading the stories just seemed to sum up so nicely. Everything sorted itself out, the world is a better place, everyone is happy etc. etc. well no, realistically big things happened in these stories, things that can’t be fixed with evasions and keeping together a marriage that nobody wants to be in for the sake of a child (looking at you Tess), it will just end badly when you realise it can’t be fixed. However the book needed to end on a happy note with everything nicely wrapped up, except that isn’t how the world works!

So as you can probably see I have mixed reviews on this book, I would definitely encourage people to read it however I personally don’t think I will be reading it again, it was fun the first time round but I don’t think I could go through all the pointless trivial issues again.

Rating: 3/5

Summing up: Mixed reviews but overall a good book

3 thoughts on “The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

Leave a Reply

