2016 End Of Year Book Survey

2016 End Of Year Book Survey

 

I found this survey over on Jamie’s blog  and I thought it was a really inventive way of summing up your reading year so I figured I’d give it a go!

Number Of Books You Read: 59
Number of Re-Reads: 9
Genre You Read The Most From: Young Adult Fiction

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

It’s between Horrorstor by Grady Hendrix and Paper Princess by Erin Watt

 

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

The Martian by Andy Weir – it had Science and inventiveness, I was bound to love it…but didn’t.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman – definitely thought this was going to be boring and depressing, it actually really surprised me and I ended up loving it!

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

 5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Paper Princess by Erin Watt or The Master by Tara Sue Me

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

This is tough. Erin Watt, Tara Sue Me or Patrick Ness

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Eliza Rose by Lucy Worsley – A Historical Fiction, not my favourite genre as I find them quite boring but I loved this one!

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Paper Princess by Erin Watt (it was so addicting!)

 9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

The Master by Tara Sue Me as I’m intending to start reading the whole series (I think this was book 8?)

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

For this I went with the first character I could think of – Hannibal Lecter from The Silence of the Lambs. He is terrifying and manipulative! Definitely not someone you forget easily!

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

This is between the Great Gatsby and A Christmas Carol, I loved the writing so much in both books!

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

The girl with Nine Wigs by Sophie Van Der Stap – a memoir about a young girl having cancer, shows that if you’re strong you can get through anything.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie – I had heard so many great things about her books but never actually read one until 2016!

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

This hard however I think the quote that made me laugh the most was from 50 Shades of Grey where the line reads “He impaled me” I have never heard sex be described in that way and for whatever reason I could not stop laughing. I’m sure there are many other beautifully written quotes from the books I’ve read but that is definitely my most memorable from last year!

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

Shortest = Green Eggs and Ham by Dr Seuss at 62 pages

Longest = The Complete Grimm’s fairy tales by Brothers Grimm at 880 pages (very long book, very difficult to get through)

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Definitely without a doubt the ending of Paper Princess by Erin Watt. I did not see that coming and don’t think I’ve ever been so shocked from a book!

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

From Paper Princess again (I promise I did read more than one book this year!) it has to be Ella and Reed. I know he is a bit of a dick but I think he has been hurt in the past so doesn’t like showing his affections.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Fom A man called Ove by Fredrik Backman – Ove and Parvaneh – seeing how they hate each other at the start but gradually become really good friends and at the end are pretty much family

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

So this one is kind of cheating but I read Room by Emma Donoghue last year and from that decided to pick up her next book The Wonder just because I really enjoyed Room so this counts right?

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Again it has to be Paper Princess by Erin Watt. I saw someone on youtube recommend it, needed a quick read before the end of the year to complete my reading challenge so read it…and ended loving it!

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

Either Reed from Paper Princess (he is hot!) or Cole from the Master by Tara Sue Me

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

Quite a few books made me cry this year! with A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness making me have a full on mental breakdown after I finished reading it. I didn’t know what to do with my life when I’d finished, I ended up just sitting and crying!

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Hair In All the Wrong Places by Andrew Buckley – not very well known although a really good story that is very entertaining!

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

Again it has to be A Monster Calls for just the sheer sadness or perhaps Paper Princess for leaving me utterly shocked and feeling so betrayed!

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

Has to be Horrorstor by Grady Hendrix. It is in the form of an IKEA catalogue with furniture at the start of every chapter which gets gradually more disturbing as the book progresses

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Paper Princess (again) I felt so betrayed. I needed someone to rant to about this book (except it was 3am and nobody else had read the book) as I was so mad at the ending!

31. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

Has to be The Sassy Geek aka Heather who can be found here. I absolutely love her blog, every post is brilliant and I love her use of gifs!

32. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

Probably Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh as I loved incorporating the photos in the book in my review to try and explain how funny they are

33. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

I don’t tend to have discussion posts on my blog however I do enjoy updating people on my reading challenge (probably more often than I should!)

34. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

This year is hopefully the year I finally take part in a blog tour! Then this will be my answer next year! Right now though I like receiving ARCs from publishers which although isn’t an event it’s a big deal for me to contact people and get ARCs.

35. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

Receiving over 550 visitors last year. Although to some people it may not seem like much I never thought that my blog would ever amount to anything. I figured I would start it as a hobby and after a month give up as nobody would be interested. Yet so many people are doing the same thing and it means I can do something I really enjoy with people who also enjoy it

36. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

It had to be fitting in the time to read. My challenge was 52 books which means one book a week. However some weeks I found myself so busy that I had no time to read, so I had no finished books to review which meant my blog went a few weeks without any posts. I found it had to get back into finding time to read and review books with everything else that was going on

37. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

My most popular post by views was my review of the Claiming by Tara Sue Me

38. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

My post covering the Man Booker Prize longlist, it took me absolutely ages to get all the pictures and links with descriptions to the book when it only got a few views!

39. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

I think Booktube was probably the best and worst thing I ever discovered. Best because it got me back into reading and made me create this blog. Worst because I now spend most of my free time watching booktube videos instead of doing my uni work or doing actual reading!

40.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I did! I’m very proud of this one (if you hadn’t guessed). I was taking part in the around the year in 52 books challenge and I (surprisingly) managed to complete it!

41. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Oh this is hard, I don’t really have any. I would like to reread the Hunger Games/Harry Potter/Twilight and was intending to do it last year but didn’t so I suppose any of these books

42. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

Hopefully Harry Potter and the Prizoner of Azkaban Illustrated Edition (hopefully it will come out this year!)

43. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones – this sounds brilliant!

44. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

Currently not reading any series that have new books coming out in 2017. However I am intending to read the sequel to Paper Princess (Broken Prince) this year so technically I am anticipating reading that

45. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

Do a blog tour!

46. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

None, haven’t read any books so far this year!

 

So there we have it 46 questions about my 2016 reading life. I think this makes a refreshing change from the normal “favourite/worst books of 2016” so I figured I would do something different. Some of these questions were definitely challenging but this was really fun!

Leave a Reply

