Clover Moon by Jacqueline Wilson

Clover Moon

Genre: Fiction,Historical, Children’s

Check it out on Goodreads

Clover Moon’s imagination is her best escape from a life of hardship in poverty-stricken Victorian London. When tragedy plunges her into a world of grief, Clover realizes that everything she loved about the place she called home is gone. Clover hears of a place she could run to, but where will she find the courage – and the chance – to break free? And could leaving her family be just what she needs to find a place that really feels like home?

Introducing the brilliant and brave new heroine from the wonderful world of the bestselling and award-winning Jacqueline Wilson.

I saw this on Netgalley and immediately had to get it and review it as it’s by Jacqueline Wilson! I absolutely loved her books as a child so had to review one now!

Reading the book as an adult (at 20 am I an adult?! That’s a scary thought) I once again felt the nostalgia of reading a Jacqueline Wilson book, however I now see some flaws that when I was younger I probably would have overlooked.

Clover Moon is a young girl whose life is something similar to a fairy tale, complete with an evil stepmother. Clover has to look after her numerous siblings and keep them occupied in the day, she practically raises them herself. However if she or any of the others get into trouble Clover’s evil stepmother beats her – violently. However this isn’t even the worst part of Clover’s life, Scarlet Fever is also prominent during her lifetime and there is no cure once a family member catches it. Without revealing too much (although it is at the start of the book) one of Clover’s family members catches it and thus Clover’s life becomes unbearable and she makes the decision to run away to a home she has heard of.

As a child this may have seemed like a perfectly normal idea however as an adult it just seems stupid, although yes she did have a difficult home life I feel as though running away to somewhere which you only knew from a man who you had just met seems a little bit creepy. However as this is a book aimed at children I will try and ignore the stupidity of this idea. Thus Clover runs away and begins her new life at this home, we meet  a character whom many of you will know if you have read any of Jacqueline’s other work and I really enjoyed meeting this character again as  I thought it was nice to include the character as this book is also set in the same time period as the other book.

I liked the ending however once again I thought it was a little bit creepy but I won’t go into details in this review as it is spoiler free and would ruin the book if you knew the ending! However I would recommend it as it is fun for both adults and children. Adults because if like me you have read a Jacqueline Wilson before you will love slotting back into her easy going writing. Children because it is a lovely and inspiring read.

Jacqueline always deals with difficult topics and this one is no different, we have abuse and death in the story and at the end of the book it does give you some information of services to call if you are suffering through anything similar which I particularly liked.

 

Once again I would recommend this book as it is a lovely read and I particularly enjoyed getting back into Jacqueline Wilson’s writing. Thankyou to the publisher who kindly gave me a copy of this book for review, all opinions are my own.

Rating: 4/5

Summing up: Another brilliant story by Jacqueline Wilson

Leave a Reply

