Top 5 Wednesday – Series that got worse with each book/Season

When I saw the category for this week I figured this would be particularly hard for me as I tend not to read series or if I do they tend to be good series e.g. Harry Potter so finding a series of books where they got gradually worse. However I managed to pull together 5, some series may just have one book which is worse than all the others which I know is slightly cheating but still. If you don’t know what the top 5 Wednesday thing is check out the Goodreads group here to learn more! For more information on any of the books/series click the pictures for more information.

5. Girls In Love by Jacqueline Wilson

Girls in Love (Girls, #1)

 

Although I absolutely love Jacqueline Wilson and everything she writes I figured that this series was just unnecessary, this book covered everything and I felt like it just did not need to be a series, if each one was a standalone then ok they would be acceptable as they did show other teenage girls that what they were going through about boys etc. was perfectly normal but I felt like branding it as a series really ruined this for me. Perhaps it was an attempt to get more money by selling them as a series I’m not sure but then that’s just me. Maybe they didn’t get worse with each book in the series however they became more tedious as they could have been perfectly fine as stand alones and not branded as a series.

 

 

4. Indebted by Pepper Winters

Debt Inheritance (Indebted, #1)

 

 

So the first book in this series has so much potential, it sounded dark and disturbing – a family of men who own the first born female of another family and can do whatever they want to her before they kill her. It sounded so tense and interesting however nothing really happened in the first book and for the first half of the second book she was sat in a tree for around 100 pages. After that I stopped reading and did not carry on the series however lets just assume that they get gradually worse from there.

 

 

3. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, #1)

 

 

Yet another book that sounded so great when you first pick it up however yet another that I stopped reading after the second book. Artemis Fowl is a young millionaire and genius, he then kidnaps a fairy…a dangerous fairy. It sounds mystical and adventurous which admittedly the first book is however it just goes downhill from there, everything gets a little too much and somewhat confusing and in the end I just gave up reading during the second book as it just didn’t seem worth the trouble.

 

 

2. Gone by Michael Grant

Gone (Gone, #1)

Yet another book which sounds amazing. A world where all the adults suddenly disappear and the children are left to fend for themselves. Of course chaos breaks out after the children realise there is no food. Admittedly the second book was still ok however definitely not as good as the first. I liked seeing how the children coped with the change and what would happen when they too became sixteen, would they disappear or stay behind? Again I read the second book and maybe even the third book in this series however they are gradually getting worse and at the moment I think there are six (?) books in the series so I’m currently not too keen on reading the rest of the series however now I’m this far in I feel committed to finish but I think these books definitely got worse the further into the series you get.

 

1. Fifty Shades Series by E.L. James

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1)

This series. This whole series. The first book shouldn’t exist and the other two now three shouldn’t exist. However you know what the worst thing is about this series? The fact that I joined the hype and read them. I became part of the flock and I am not proud of it. Although I did rate the final book in the trilogy a three star it just wasn’t a great series. I don’t want to go into too much of a rant as I have said enough in each of my reviews however I just think the stories were drawn out and did not need three books then another book from a different perspective. No. Just no. The worst thing is that I now have to read the last book just for completion and so that I can do a review of it stating how much of a jerk Christian Grey sounds like when he is describing how badly he wants to have sex with Ana but still trying to maintain his bad boy exterior. Cannot wait.

Just because a series is on this list does not mean they are all bad books. I would still say don’t just take my word on this, you might enjoy them even though I didn’t. Don’t let one list just put you off reading the whole series. Read them and let me know what you think. Did you do this weeks topic? Did you find it hard? I know I certainly did! Let me know what your list is!

Leave a Reply

