The Complete Grimm’s Fairy Tales by Brother’s Grimm

The Complete Grimm's Fairy TalesGenre: Classic, Fiction, Fantasy, Fairy Tales, Childrens

Buy On Amazon

For almost two centuries, the stories of magic and myth gathered by the Brothers Grimm have been part of the way children — and adults — learn about the vagaries of the real world.

Cinderella, Rapunzel, Snow-White, Hänsel and Gretel, Little Red-Cap (a.k.a. Little Red Riding Hood), and Briar-Rose (a.k.a. Sleeping Beauty) are only a few of more than 200 enchanting characters included here.

Lyrically translated and beautifully illustrated, the tales are presented just as Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm originally set them down: bold, primal, just frightening enough, and endlessly engaging.

I already knew of some of the tales that are in this book from the Disney films such as Cinderella or Snow White, I knew the general stories however had never read the originals. Although some of the tales were quite familiar some were completely new to me.

There were so many stories in this book, I know it’s the complete collection so I should have really anticipated it but I didn’t, whereas most people review the stories one by one there are so many I feel like I should just do a summary of the whole book instead of reviewing each story where some of which are only a page or two long, I’d be here forever and we both know nobody would actually read through all the individual reviews of the stories so I figured I’d save us both time and summarise.

Although most children’s stories have some sort of moral message to take from it some of these stories just seemed pointless and repetitive. Some stories had completely different morals – stealing is acceptable in some circumstances but sometimes you’re screwed either way. Some of the stories just didn’t seem to have any meaning at all and just seemed like a waste of time.

There were some stories I enjoyed however none particularly stand out to me as fabulous and although I read the whole thing I cannot tell you what some of the stories are about, they just didn’t seem memorable enough. Towards the end of the book the stories did seem to get a little predictable – kings having three sons, the most beautiful daughters who need their suitors to perform some sort of task before they can marry them, any talking animal is most likely a cursed prince. Although some of the stories were fun to read some just became dull and boring, what should be a fun children’s story just became boring. However there were some parts of some stories that were particularly gruesome for instance cutting toes or heels off, I mean I’d heard that the original stories from Disney were gruesome but wow, that was just unexpected and violent!

Overall although there were some stories that I recognised I wouldn’t recommend reading the whole book like I did, most stories are meaningless and make you think “why the hell did I waste my time reading that?” there are some stories that people will know from the classic Disney films and these I would read because it shows how nice Disney makes everything compared to the real thing. However if there is one piece of advice I can give you before going into this book…all dwarves are evil.

 Rating: 2/5

Summing up: Mainly pointless short stories with conflicting morals.

Leave a Reply

