Top 5 Wednesday

It is that time again! I’m actually starting to enjoy doing these and I have no idea why I waited so long to do them!

This week’s category is: Books You Want to See as Tv Shows

I have so many books that I think need to be made into Tv Shows! I can only pick 5 though! So I have gone with my favourites, there may be some which there is a TV show related to the book in some distant way (I haven’t done much research on them) however the books I have chosen need full series with good actors! Also I have cheated slightly on some and chosen the whole series (but what’s the point of only producing one books worth? Why not do the whole series?)

5. Harry Potter (the whole series) by J.K. Rowling

Image result for harry potter series

Yes I know we already have 8 films and a play however I just need more! I need the day to day lives of the students of Hogwarts, I’d quite happily just watch them going to classes and learning everything there is to know about the wizarding world. Please can this be a thing? It needs to be a thing!

4. Gone by Michael Grant

Image result for gone series

This is a book series about a world in which everyone aged 15 or older suddenly disappears, children are left behind to fend for themselves. Not only do they now rapidly have to grow up and look after themselves but this new world has changes, animals are evolving and becoming more deadly, surviving will not be easy. As a book series this was ok, not absolutely brilliant but not dreadful, if it were made into a tv series I think it would be very popular. I know there was a tv series a couple of years ago that was similar however if I remember correctly there were only something like two series and all the children were very mature for their ages. I want something more realistic (yes I know the books have flying snakes and this is a complete contradiction but stay with me), I want it to be as close as possible to what would actually happen, the children wouldn’t suddenly be able to take care of themselves, they would starve and fight over chocolate. This is the kind of tv show I want, one where you can see the characters develop and adapt to their new world!

3. The Wardstone Chronicles by Joseph Delaney (Spook’s apprentice)

Image result for wardstone chronicles series

This is one of my all time favourite book series, enough that I still have all 13 books on my shelf and will probably never part with them! A few years ago we got a film called The Seventh Son which was based on the first book…it was dreadful. I know it was only based on the book and wasn’t going to follow it exactly but the acting was dreadful! I need a good TV show where all the characters can actually act! Also think of the amount of content that they could use! Theres 13 books, that can be like 13 seasons! Please can we have 13 seasons?! I would probably never leave the house again, I’d just sit watching them over and over again!

2. Homewrecker Incorporated by S. Simone Chavous

Image result for homewrecker incorporated

This is a book I was sent free by the author, I thought it would be boring and a 50 shades wannabe. However I was really impressed with it! I did a full review here (it isn’t a very well known book and I would definitely recommend it) and I just think it would make a really good TV show, each episode could be a different mark and it could be about the different approaches to them and how to manipulate them to get what they want. I just feel like this would make such a great TV show!

1. The Host by Stephenie Meyer

Image result for the host book

Once again I know we already have a film of this but I don’t think it gave us enough! I don’t want to know about the parasitic alien race, I want to know about the survivors. The little colonies of people that somehow managed to survive and are now in hiding. I need to know more about this! I want the daily lives of them, their routines, what they eat, their chores, getting supplies etc. I just don’t think there was enough of this in the film so I need this as a TV show right now! Someone make this happen!

So those were my top 5 books (and series) that I think should be turned into TV shows, admittedly some of the episodes would be quite boring (I mean there’s only so much you can watch of a small group of surviving humans going about their daily lives) so I’m not sure if it would take off but it would make me happy and it’s up to the producers to make it more interesting. I just need it to happen. Now.

 

Posted in: T5W

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday

  1. M.L.S.Weech says:

    Good topic. I did my list of movies I’d like to see as a cinematic universe here:

    https://mlsweech.wordpress.com/2016/07/11/first-blog-post/

    But TV is different. You can have deeper universe and a larger cast. So here’s my list:

    1) Wheel of Time (I hear this is actually going to be a thing, and if it’s true, I’m stoked).
    2) Mistborn Second Era
    3) The Demon Cycle
    4) Dresden Files (Don’t care they tried this…they rushed and did it wrong. It would be great if done right).
    5) Women’s Murder Club (again, done right, this would be awesome).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

