Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery

Buy On Amazon

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

This is a reread for me, the first time I read this book I wasn’t really keen on it, I figured it was just too childish however with the film coming out this year I felt like I owed it to Ransom Riggs to give his book another chance.

I am so glad I decided to reread this! I absolutely loved the creepy photos and although some of them are a little bit unrealistic and definitely photoshopped I think they really added to the story and made it memorable.

The story itself is so gripping, I needed to find out if the children were alive and what had happened to them. It is such an interesting book, completely different to anything I had read before. Each of the children had such interesting powers and although there are other YA fantasy novels which have children with powers this just felt so different to all the others in that category.

It reminded me of Tom’s Midnight Garden where this special place could only be accessed a certain way but it had such a different spin on it and I really enjoyed it. At times it does seem a little bit like a children’s story but the overall creepiness makes it acceptable to pass as a YA novel.

It’s a very mysterious novel that will have you gripped until the very end, just when you think you know what’s happening the story will take an unexpected twist and once again you’ll be sucked in and before you’ve realised it that’s the end of the first book!

Hopefully the next book in the series will carry on with this creepy vibe however if it does just become a children’s adventure story then I think I will be disappointed as I liked that it looked like a horror but had just the right amount of creepiness with the photos to keep me entertained. There are apparently photos in the 2nd book so I think it should be as good as the first, however not too sure about where the plot is going.

I think it is a really interesting book that will keep you gripped, however at some points it may feel like a bit of a children’s book but stick with it because overall I think it is a brilliant book and the description of the house and the other children is so vibrant that you can really feel yourself falling in love with the characters and their various abilities.

This book is soon to become a film at the end of September (UK) and it looks brilliant, hopefully it will stay close to the book and will allow these amazing characters to come to life.

Ahh it looks so good! I cannot wait to see it!

Rating: 4/5

Summing up: A brilliant story with some creepy pictures

One thought on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Leave a Reply

