First Debt by Pepper Winters (Indebted #2)

First Debt (Indebted, #2)

Genre: Adult, Erotica, Fiction, Romance

Buy On Amazon

“You say I’ll never own you. If I win—you willingly give me that right. You sign not only the debt agreement, but another—one that makes me your master until your last breath is taken. You do that, and I’ll give you this.”

Nila Weaver’s family is indebted. Stolen, taken, and bound not by monsters but by an agreement written over six hundred years ago, she has no way out.

She belongs to Jethro as much as she denies it.

Jethro Hawk’s patience is running out. His inheritance gift tests, challenges, and surprises him—and not in good ways. He hasn’t leashed her but he thinks he might’ve found a way to bind her forever.

Debts are mounting. Payment waiting.

 

This is book 2 in the Indebted Series after the first book Debt Inheritance. I don’t really know what I was expecting after the abysmal first book however I thought we’d get more clarity on what the Weaver family did to deserve their firstborns getting kidnapped and owned.

We did get a bit of history while the first debt was being extracted however the history took up a maximum of one page and didn’t warrant a whole book written about it so I got bored very quickly.

The first 60 pages are just of Nila sat in a tree…what thrilling reading – not. The story doesn’t really get any more thrilling from there, Nila says the phrase “kiss me” about 60 times in the space of 5 pages. The storyline is so repetitive and the star crossed lovers really aren’t entertaining enough. The sex scenes that label this book erotic are so bland, I don’t know if it’s because the storyline is so dull or just because the characters have no personalities but I really didn’t care and the whole thing was just boring.

The mystery (if you can call it that) as to who Kite007 is revealed…not very much of a mystery as it becomes painfully obvious as to who it is about 200 pages before the identity is revealed so Nila just looks stupid throughout the entire book.

Nila still isn’t much more interesting than she was in the first book, she has such frequent mood swings towards Jethro…one minute she wants to kill him, the next they are having sex. I can’t really keep up and I just wanted to be finished with the book so I didn’t really slow down to try and figure out the inner workings of Nila’s mind.

After the first debt is completed Nila is left bleeding and strapped to a post and what does Jethro do? He decides now would be a perfect time for sex…because who doesn’t get turned on over a helpless, crying girl who is bleeding and unable to move? This whole scene just repulsed me and then to make it worse the next day Nila is totally ok with having sex with him?! WHAT?! This does not make sense, any female in her right mind would not be ok with this at all, especially not the next day!

So what I’ve learned from reading this book is: it’s 380 pages of violence, cruelty, pain and misplaced love/lust. We don’t really gain any more insight into the story from the first book. The “chemistry” between the two main characters is non existent and neither of them have a convincing personality to help me get through this series enough to find out if the girl lives or dies.

I can’t find any good qualities about this book, it’s harsh I know but there’s not enough mystery for it to keep me entertained, the sex scenes are dull and the characters lifeless. I really don’t find these books appealing.

 

Rating: 1/5

Summing up: Not worth reading

Leave a Reply

