Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened

Genre: Humor, non fiction, comedy

Buy On Amazon

This is a book I wrote. Because I wrote it, I had to figure out what to put on the back cover to explain what it is. I tried to write a long, third-person summary that would imply how great the book is and also sound vaguely authoritative–like maybe someone who isn’t me wrote it–but I soon discovered that I’m not sneaky enough to pull it off convincingly. So I decided to just make a list of things that are in the book:

Pictures
Words
Stories about things that happened to me
Stories about things that happened to other people because of me
Eight billion dollars*
Stories about dogs
The secret to eternal happiness*

*These are lies. Perhaps I have underestimated my sneakiness!

So I don’t really laugh at books, normally it is just a loud exhale to show that I find something amusing, however this book made me actually laugh out loud, literally! Full on laughter occurred and once I started I could not stop!

The book comes with illustrations which are absolutely brilliant! They add to the story so much and are just funny in themselves because they are so true!

Take this picture of a dog for example, the story is about the dog being sick however from the dog’s perspective this is how they see it:

It just gets better from there to be honest, it is comedy gold. 

The story that got me was the one about a goose, I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard in my entire life, if you’ve read the book then you will understand however to sum up the short story – a goose finds its way into the house, unsuspecting partner is in the living room, author calls partner and says:

I’ll give you a million dollars if you can guess what’s going to happen next.

The partner then proceeds to get attacked by the goose which then takes over their house.

I don’t know why but the whole story just had me crying with laughter, it’s just something so random but I could really picture it happening and attacking them, so funny.

Allie does cover some tough issues such as depression however she still manages to make it funny with pictures such as:

This perfectly sums up depression when someone says “oh you’ll get over it” but just the face and the way they are lying on this photo really makes me laugh. 

Also with images to explain evolution such as:

how can you not love this book? 

I would definitely recommend it, if you have suffered/ are currently suffering from depression then maybe be a bit wary of the depression stories however I think they were a really true account of what it is like to have depression and how people treat you when they know you have it. 

You will definitely enjoy this book and will probably be crying with laughter throughout it as I was. 

 

The author does have a blog with similar stories to this and more, I would definitely recommend you checking it out if you enjoyed the book and want more: Hyperbole and a Half

 

Rating: 5/5

Summing up: Absolutely hilarious, will have you crying with laughter

Leave a Reply

