The Secret Life of Daisy Fitzjohn by Tania Unsworth

27875925Genre:Childrens, Fantasy, Fiction

Buy on Amazon  

11 year old Daisy has never seen the outside world.

She has lived with her mother in their family home, the splendid but crumbling Brightwood Hall. But when one day her mother doesn’t come home and a strange man arrives at the house, Daisy must use her wits to survive.

This enthralling story of a young girl’s physical and mental journey is beautifully imagined by Tania Unsworth, and readers will be completely transported by the unique magic of Daisy’s world.

*Received as an ARC from Netgalley*

When I first heard about this book I thought it sounded absolutely amazing and had to get it! The idea of a child never having left her family home having to survive on her own seemed like something so new and different that it totally appealed to me!

Once I actually started reading the book though (for the first 50 pages) I was quite disappointed, I thought it was just going to be another book where there’s an accident, her family die, she has to live on her own etc. etc. (not a spoiler it’s the start of the book) however about 100 pages in I realised that I was captivated by this story!

As the book pretty much says Daisy’s mother disappears, this leaves 11 year old Daisy completely alone, this is terrifying enough however to make it even more intense – Daisy has never been outside the grounds of the house that she has lived in. Also other than her mother nobody even knows she exist therefore nobody is coming to look for her. However Daisy is clever, she has enough food to survive therefore she is happy to stay in the house to wait until her mum comes back…then a man arrives. This new arrival makes Daisy question everything she thought she knew about her life and to use all her knowledge in order to survive.

This book is amazing, the characters are brought to life by the imagination of the little girl and although this may sound boring it is truly magical. At one point in the book I think I may have actually cried a bit over the child’s love for a bush shaped like a horse (I know this sounds ridiculous but honestly if you read the book you will understand). I truly enjoyed this book and it did become a really fun adventure to find out who the man is and how Daisy will get out of the situation.

The only downside to this book was that for me it was a little too young, some of the things that happened I could see where they were going to lead however the book isn’t aimed at my age (20) therefore I can’t really say it’s a dreadful book just because of that, I really did love this book and I’m sure if I would have read this when I was about 13/14 it definitely would have been one of my favourite books of my childhood.

Regardless of your age I would read this book, the imagination of Daisy is amazing and I do think that it is something that every child/teenager should read, it brings back your own memories of childhood (and when you believed that trees and statues could talk – hey we’ve all been there). I would definitely recommend this to children 10+ but to be honest even if you are my age it is still a fun read so don’t let the intended age put you off because if you are after a fun read that will remind you of your childhood then this is definitely the book for you!

 

Rating: 5/5

Summing up: An amazing children’s book

Leave a Reply

