Book Review: Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild

Genre: Childrens (middle grade), Fiction, YA, Historical Fiction

Pauline, Petrova and Posy Fossil are sisters – with a difference. All three were adopted as babies by Great Uncle Matthew, an eccentric and rich explorer who then disappeared, leaving them in the care of his niece Sylvia. The girls grow up in comfort until their money begins to run out and nobody can find Great Uncle Matthew.Things look bleak until they hit on an inspired idea: Pauline, Petrova and Posy will take to the stage. But it’s not long before the Fossils learn that being a star isn’t as easy as they first thought…

This is a tale of three sisters who decide that they will help out their new family by joining an Academy of Dancing, they think it will be easy to make names for themselves however they soon find out they are wrong! However they stick to it and continue practising whenever they have a moment free.

However they encounter an issue, two of the sisters take to the life however the third doesn’t, will the sisters accept that they each must go their own path?

When I first started this book I really didn’t think I would enjoy it, I’m definitely not one of those girls who was ever into ballet so it wasn’t really that appealing to me. The only reason I picked it up was because Jacqueline Wilson (my idol at the time) said that she loved it and so like any loving fan would I picked it up. I am so glad I did! After the first 50 pages or so it becomes like a well known classic, similar to The Railway Children or Little Women.

I think I enjoyed this book so much because I wasn’t expecting it to be such a good book, I thought it would be all about ballet and have no real story to it, however I was shocked at how good the story was!

I haven’t read it in a while (it may be time for a reread) however I remember it being one of the best books of my early teenage years and I’ve even described it as “possibly the best book I’ve ever read”. Don’t let the premise put you off this, if you love classic books then this is definitely a read for you.

The book is so well written and takes you back to that era when dreams were alive, I actually felt like I was there with the three sisters, living their dreams with them. Such an amazing heartfelt book that I’m sure any young teen would absolutely adore.

Rating: 5/5 (easily)

Summing up: Extraordinary

Leave a Reply

